In committeeSPRINGFIELD- A bill that promotes businesses owned by minorities, females, and persons with disabilities proposed by Senator James Clayborne (D-Belleville) has passed both houses and now heads to the Governor’s desk to be signed into law.

Senate Bill 1334 amends the Business Enterprise for Minorities, Females, and Persons with Disabilities Act (BEMFPA) by making it a public policy of Illinois to promote each state agency and public institutions of higher education to use businesses owned by the above mentioned in the area of professional services.

Read more: Clayborne fights discrimination

SPRINGFIELD- State Senator James Clayborne (D-Belleville) stood his ground and voted to protect an East St. Louis youth program in danger of having its state support slashed by Gov. Rauner.

Read more: Senator Clayborne votes to protect local youth program from governor’s cuts

112014 js 0107SPRINGFIELD – The Illinois Senate adopted a resolution Thursday renaming the Illinois State Museum after former lawmaker Alan Dixon.

State Senator James Clayborne (D-Belleville) sponsored the resolution honoring the Belleville native who served Illinoisans as a state representative, state senator, treasurer and U.S. senator.

“Alan Dixon was a dedicated public servant and a committed pursuer of knowledge, justice and peace. It’s hard to think of a more fitting way of memorializing his years of service and legacy than placing his name on a building devoted to preserving Illinois’ heritage,” Clayborne said.

Dixon began his career in Illinois government when he was elected to the House of Representatives in 1950 when he was 22 years old. He retired from the U.S. Senate in 1993.

Dixon passed away July 6, one day before his 87th birthday.

The Illinois State Museum is located on the Capitol grounds in Springfield.


eNewsletter Signup
  1. First Name(*)
    Invalid Input
  2. Last Name(*)
    Invalid Input
  3. Your Email(*)
    Please let us know your email address.
  4. (*)
    Invalid Input

Contact Us

Springfield Office:
329 Capitol Building
Springfield, IL 62706
(217) 782-5399

District Office:
Kenneth Hall Regional Office Bldg.
10 Collinsville Avenue, Suite 201-A
East St. Louis, IL 62201
(618) 875-1212